That’s when the machine fell on top of them.

On February 11th, 2011, Rosa Moreno lost both her hands in an accident at a factory in Reynosa, Mexico. Four years later, after her lawsuit against LG Electronics was dismissed on a technicality, she writes at the Guardian about the accident, the lawsuit, and her attempts to support her six children as a single parent and double amputee.

“It’s been four years since I lost my hands. I have trouble paying my mortgage, and I wonder: Was that first lawyer right? Will I end up on a bridge, holding a cup out in front of me?

… I’ve worked in factories most of my life. I know I am not the first person to be injured. But more needs to be done to help the workers who are making the products that so many Americans buy. We don’t ask for even a tiny share of the billions these companies make. We are just asking for enough to take care of our families and, when we are hurt, to take care of ourselves, too.”

LG Electronics, who contracted with the factory where Moreno was injured, is one of the world’s leading producers of flat screen televisions, cell phones, and other electronics. In 2013 they were the third largest appliance producer in the United States.

Leave a Reply

